top of page
  • Writer's pictureClaire Florey-Hithcox

April

Here is the carving I have been working on over the last couple of months, it is inspired by scenes of the rural countryside which are so familiar to me.


After being at college in the buzzing city centre of Manchester it was such a contrast to be back in the countryside. My workshop backs on to a lush green pasture of cows, there are fields as far as the eye can see. It is so removed from the frenzy of city life.

I wanted to include a lot of what I know and love about the countryside:

Growing vegetables, an overflowing wheelbarrow, covered beanpoles, a thatched cottage with a cobbled path and old stone wall encircled by ivy leaves,

a farmer at work collecting bales of hay, a winding river. a canal boat surrounded by bulrushes and reeds and a punt on the Thames framed by willow.


The natural, earthy textures in the leaves, stones and trees are a bountiful source of inspiration. It is so satisfying seeing my carved details grow and gradually cover the block. It takes a lot of time and patience to achieve the detail that I want in the carving.

bottom of page